Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.

This content is made possible in part by the generous sponsorship support of The University of Minnesota.

Dudley Riggs honored with lifetime achievement honor at Ivey Awards

Dudley Riggs, whose Brave New Workshop helped to define the Twin Cities theater community — and has dozens of famed alumni — was honored Monday evening with a Lifetime Achievement honor at the fifth annual Ivey Awards.

Since the early 1960s, Riggs’ Brave New Workshop has produced topical, satirical shows and regular improvisational performances. Numerous local and national performers cut their teeth with the theater, including U.S. Sen. Al Franken, Penn Jillete of Penn & Teller and Louie Anderson.

Emily Gonyou Harris was honored as the area’s emerging artist. Her recent work includes “My Name is Rachel Corrie” at Emigrant Theatre; “Passage of Dreams” at Theatre Latte Da; “Dr. Jekyll and Mr Hyde” at Park Square; “1001” at Mixed Blood; and “Vinegar Tom” at Frank Theatre.

Other honorees include:

“Little Rock, 1957,” by Youth Performance Company.

“Tyrone & Ralph,” by the History Theatre.

“Old Wicked Songs,” by Theatre Latte Da.

Individual Performances
Luverne Seifert, Actor, “800 Words: The Transmigration of Philip Dick,” by Workhaus Theatre Collective.

Christina Baldwin and Jennifer Baldwin Peden, Actors, “Sister Stories,” by Nautilus Music-Theater.

Greg Banks, Direction, “Romeo and Juliet,” by the Children’s Theatre Company.

Greta Oglesby, Actor, “Caroline or Change,” by the Guthrie Theater.

Sean Healey, Sound Design, “Shipwrecked,” by the Jungle Theater.

Sonja Parks, Actor, “No Child,” by Pillsbury House Theatre.

Chris Griffith, Props Puppet Design, “Herschel and the Hannukah Goblins,” by Minnesota Jewish Theatre Company.

The event, held at the State Theatre in Minneapolis, featured local stars Claudia Wilkins and Richard Ooms as hosts and featured performances from numerous area theater companies.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply