Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


Hillary Clinton releases star-studded list of Minnesota backers

REUTERS/Joshua Roberts
Hillary Clinton speaking to supporters at the Human Rights Campaign Breakfast in Washington, D.C. on Saturday.

The Hillary Clinton campaign this morning released the names of what it calls its Minnesota Leadership Council, a politically star-studded roster that starts with both of Minnesota’s U.S. senators, Gov. Mark Dayton and his lieutenant governors from both his first and second terms, and the mayors of both Minneapolis and St. Paul.

Of the five DFLers in Minnesota’s delegation to the U.S. House, only one, Tim Walz, is on the list. The top two leaders of the DFL in the state House of Representatives signed up, plus six other DFL state reps and seven state senators, the chair of the state DFL Party organization plus other officials of the party, some union leaders, some college campus organizers and — notably — well-known (and deep-pocketed) political donors Vance Opperman and Dean Phillips.

Some of the names are folks who have long been publicly supporting Clinton’s bid, some are new. I’ll append the best-known names at the bottom, but it’s an impressive list of present and former elected officials, and big names in campaign finance circles.

According to this story in today’s New York Times, the release is part of a group of such lists in what the campaign calls “crucial March states,” including many, like Minnesota, that use caucuses rather than primaries to choose their delegates to the national nominating convention. Minnesota’s caucuses are set for March 1, which is also “Super Tuesday.”

Here are the best-known names on the Minnesota list:

U.S. Sens Amy Klobuchar and Al Franken, Gov. Mark Dayton,  current and immediate past Lt. Govs. Tina Smith, and Yvonne Prettner-Solon, U.S. Rep. Tim Walz, Former Minnesota Secretary of State Joan Anderson Growe, Former state Supreme Court Justice Alan Page and Diane Sims Page, DFL Party Chair Ken Martin and Executive Director Corey Day, Democratic National Committee Member Nancy Schumacher, state Sens. Melissa Franzen, Jeff Hayden, Sandy Pappas, Kathy Sheran, Katie Sieben, Terri Bonoff and Ann Rest, Minnesota House Minority Leader Paul Thissen and Deputy Leader Erin Murphy,  State Reps. Linda Slocum, Rena Moran, Cheryl Youakim, John Lesch, Dan Schoen, Jon Applebaum, Minneapolis Mayor Betsy Hodges, St. Paul Mayor Chris Coleman, Minneapolis City Council members Jacob Frey and Abdi Warsame,  Former State Department official and current dean of the U of M’s Humphrey School Eric P. Schwartz,. Hubert “Buck” Humphrey, Ellen Goldberg-Luger, Vance Opperman, Dean Phillips, former  (Independence Party) congressional candidate Tammy Lee Stanoch, Former Iowa Democratic Chair Sheila McGuire Riggs, Former St. Paul Councilman Melvin Carter, Mary Ricker, National Executive Vice President, American Federation of Teachers, President Denise Specht, Education Minnesota, gun control advocate Sami Rahamim.

Other less-well-known names include several with labor union titles and several who are in charge of organizing volunteers for various college campuses or geographical districts.

It is notable that several on the list — members of Congress, the governor, top party officials, are also “superdelegates” who are guaranteed a vote at the Democratic convention even if they are not chosen by the normal delegate-selection methods. Clinton is actively courting superdelegates and seems to have locked up quite a few.

Comments (8)

  1. Submitted by Dimitri Drekonja on 10/05/2015 - 03:24 pm.

    Interesting contrast in headlines.

    Star trib: “Clinton announces Minn. leadership council; names conspicuously missing”

    This column: “Hillary Clinton releases star-studded list of Minnesota backers”

    In all honesty, I’d like to know what the real news is here: is it standard for a candidate to not have the entire party congressional delegation sign on? In which case, the strib headline seems to be misleading in running with the “where are the others” angle.

    Or, is it unusual to get this heavy a list of endorsements? In which case the headline for this piece seems to better reflect the that this is a coup.

    I have no idea which one is closer to the truth– but odd that the same news generates 2 such opposite headlines.

  2. Submitted by joe smith on 10/05/2015 - 03:47 pm.

    The usual DFL suspects. I’m shocked that a few of those in her camp are not for Social Democrat Bernie!,

  3. Submitted by Ole Olson on 10/05/2015 - 09:18 pm.

    Bernie will still win Minnesota

    Hillary Clinton has spent decades cultivating relationships with Democratic Party leaders, elected officials, and the leading figures in hundreds of unions, causes, and community organizations. That’s fine, I like Hillary, but we have someone even *better* in the race for President: Bernie Sanders.

    Bernie may not have the name recognition, he may not have the early endorsements, he many not have the well funded ground operation, but what he does have is far better stances on virtually every issue, a highly motivated support base of regular folks, and the honesty, integrity, and authenticity of fighting for exactly the same things way before it was cool.

    That’s why I support Bernie. That’s why Bernie Sanders is going to win in Minnesota, that’s why he’s going to ultimately triumph in the race for the Democratic nomination, and that’s why he will be our next President of the United States of America.

    Get in on the movement! Sign Up, Donate, Volunteer
    Bernie Sanders on the issues

  4. Submitted by Hiram Foster on 10/06/2015 - 09:57 am.

    The list

    As always with these lists, the names who don’t appear are as of much interest as the names who do. Why does Hillary have such limited support from Democrats in the Minnesota legislature? What’s the story behind that?

    • Submitted by RB Holbrook on 10/06/2015 - 04:01 pm.


      I’m just making a guess here, but it’s possible they don’t want to stick their necks out too far this early in the campaign cycle.

  5. Submitted by John Edwards on 10/06/2015 - 07:40 pm.

    Very familiar

    Interesting how the list of Hillary Clinton’s list of donors looks like Minnpost’s.

Leave a Reply