Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


Who’s giving big to Minnesota gubernatorial campaigns?

A lot of bold-faced names, the arts community, and political veterans — who sometimes cross party lines.

Who gave how much to whom?

That’s one of the games political junkies play when candidates file with the Minnesota Campaign Finance and Disclosure Board.

For the 2014’s first quarter, gubernatorial campaigns feature bold-faced names, big contribution amounts, and some trends.

DFL Gov. Mark Dayton collected $169,961 in cash and in-kind contributions, much from donors affiliated with the arts:

  • Bruce Coppock, president St Paul Chamber Orchestra, donated $1,000
  • Tom Hoch, president of the Hennepin Theater Trust, donated $500.
  • Garrison Keillor had an in-kind contribution of $3,000 for hosting a fundraiser, plus $1,000 in a cash contribution.
  • Ruth Huss, an arts philanthropist  gave the maximum of $4,000.

Dayton’s list of donors also includes Marilyn Nelson of Carlson Companies, who gave $1,000 and John Noseworthy, CEO of  Mayo Clinic, who also gave $1,000.

Article continues after advertisement

Wheelock Whitney is a well-known Republican who himself ran for governor. He’s also a Dayton family friend. He gave $750.

And speaking of family, the Dayton list includes a number of donors surnamed Dayton, including Lucy Dayton of Helena Montana who gave the maximum of $4,000. H. William Walter and Judy Walter of Minneapolis, and Matthew Walter of Edina also gave $4,000.

For this cycle, six donors gave the Dayton campaign the maximum contribution, including Wayzata’s Edison Spencer.

On the Republican side, businessman Scott Honour raised the most of all candidates, including Dayton, with receipts $251,071.01, including a $50,000 personal loan.

Hnour had the most donors (seven) giving the $4,000 maximum: St. Peter’s Laurie Davis and Mitch Davis; Jack Helms from Edina; Wayzata’s Patrick Hughes; Connie Hayes and Doug Hayes of Los Angeles; and Jonathan Chan of Singapore. 

Former Eighth District congressman Chip Cravaack gave the Honour campaign his donor list for an in-kind contribution valued at $824.50

Hennepin County commissioner Jeff Johnson raised $32,027. One donor, Brandy Darcy of Wayzata gave the $4,000 maximum contribution. 

Former State Rep. Marty Seifert raised $64,127. His list contains two maximum contributions, each from prominent Republican donors Joan and Bob Cummins.

State Rep. Kurt Zellers raised  $91,407.14 with no maximum contributors.  His list includes a representation of political insiders: GOP consultant Elam Baer gave $500 as did former Gov. Tim Pawlenty chief of staff Bob Schroeder. Pawlenty’s communication director Brian McClung gave $550.

Article continues after advertisement

State Sen. Dave Thompson raised $67, 066.07 and was second among Republicans in donors who gave the maximum. Four donors contributed $4,000: Ashley and Brenton Hayden of Minnetonka; Ian McDonald of Lakeville; and Gary Polzin of Northfield. Timothy Pearson of Lakeville contributed $3,950 to the Thompson campaign.

A final candidate, Rob Farnsworth, took in $3,335.