Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


Republicans finalize convention speaker lineup

The preliminary lineup of speakers for the Republican National Convention was finalized today, except, of course, for the vice-presidential pick. The list includes 10 current and former Republican governors, five current and former U.S. senators and two businesswomen. — Joe Kimball

Here are the highlights for the four-day gathering, which begins Monday, Sept. 1, at St. Paul’s Xcel Energy Center:


• Connecticut Sen. Joseph Lieberman

• California Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger

• Vice President Dick Cheney

• First Lady Laura Bush

• President Bush


• Former New York City Mayor Rudolph W. Giuliani

• Former Arkansas Gov. Mike Huckabee

• Former Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Ridge

• Alaska Gov. Sarah Palin

• Utah Gov. Jon Huntsman

• Rosario Marin, California secretary of the State and Consumer Services Agency and former U.S. treasurer

• Former Tennessee Sen. Fred Thompson

• Hawaii Gov. Linda Lingle

• Former Maryland Lt. Gov. Michael Steele


• U.S. Sen. Norm Coleman

• Meg Whitman, national co-chair for McCain 2008 and former president and CEO of eBay

• Carly Fiorina, Victory ’08 chairman for the Republican National Committee and former chairman and CEO of Hewlett-Packard

• Former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney

• Cindy McCain

• Louisiana Gov. Bobby Jindal

• Republican Party’s vice presidential nominee


• Gov. Tim Pawlenty

• Florida Gov. Charlie Crist

• Kansas Sen. Sam Brownback

• Florida Sen. Mel Martinez

• Sen. John McCain

You can also learn about all our free newsletter options.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply