Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


Two Twin Cities artists among those chosen for LRT station art

Artists have been selected to create artwork for the 15 stations along the proposed Central Corridor light rail line that will connect the downtowns of Minneapolis and St. Paul.

And two of the artists are even from the Twin Cities!

All have experience on developing artwork for public infrastructure projects. The Metropolitan Council approved the recommendations of the artist selection committee, so now they’ll negotiate contracts with the artists.

Contracts cannot exceed $560,000 per artist or $2.8 million total.

The artists will work with community task forces for each station and must complete substantive station design work before April.

The artists and their assigned stations are:
Seitu Jones of St. Paul: Lexington Parkway and Dale and Rice street stations

Janet Lofquist of Minneapolis: 29th Avenue, 10th Street and Capitol East stations

Nancy Blum of New York: West Bank, East Bank and Fairview Avenue stations
Roberto L. Delgado of Los Angeles: Stadium Village, Snelling Avenue and Fourth and Cedar Street stations
Andrea Myklebust and Stanton Stears of Myklebust + Sears Studio of Stockholm, Wis.: Westgate, Raymond and Union Depot stations.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply