Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


Citizens, state officials named to new Early Childhood advisory council

Ten citizens, including oft-quoted education expert Joe Nathan, have been named to the State Advisory Council on Early Childhood Education and Care.

Gov. Tim Pawlenty created the council with an executive order and appointed these members:

• Sarah Caruso, of Hopkins, president of the Minnesota Children’s Museum. She holds a master of business administration degree from Stanford University.

• Dr. Andy Chen, of Woodbury, a mechanical engineer who has worked for 3M since 1993.  He holds a master of science degree from Michigan State University and a doctorate degree from the University of Minnesota.  

• Stephanie Corradi, of Bemidji, a licensed home child-care provider and an active community volunteer with teaching experience.

• Tom Holton, of Bloomington, executive director of community education for Bloomington-Richfield Schools.  He earned his master of science degree in community education from the University of St. Thomas.
• Julie Leslie, of West St. Paul, a licensed educator and the director of Augustana Preschool.  She earned her master’s degree in education from the University of St. Thomas.

• Joe Nathan, of St. Paul, director of the Center for School Change at the University of Minnesota’s Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs. He earned his master’s and doctorate degrees from the University of Minnesota.

• Dr. Arthur Reynolds, of Minneapolis, a professor in the area of child development at the University of Minnesota. He holds a doctorate degree in public policy analysis from the University of Illinois in Chicago and a master of arts degree in psychology from the University of Virginia.

• Maureen Seiwert, of St. Louis Park, executive director of early childhood education for the Minneapolis Public School system. She holds a master’s degree in education, work, community, and family education from the University of Minnesota

• Sandra Simar, of Rochester, Head Start director at Child Care Resource and Referral in Rochester. She holds a master of arts degree in education policy and administration from the University of Minnesota.
• Julie Sjordal, of Minnetonka, managing director of programs for St. David’s Child Development and Family Services in Minnetonka.  She graduated with a bachelor of science degree in elementary education from the University of Minnesota.

The federal law that authorizes the advisory council requires designees from the Minnesota Department of Education, the Minnesota Department of Human Services and the state director of Head Start Collaboration. Filling those spots will be Karen Klinzing, assistant commissioner of education, Chuck Johnson, assistant commissioner, of Human Services; and Mary Vanderwert, state director of Head Start Collaboration.

Two members of the state House and two from the state Senate also will sit as members.

You can also learn about all our free newsletter options.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply