Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


House Republicans fill more leadership posts

More state House Republicans have been elected to leadership posts for the upcoming legislative session.

Earlier, the group re-elected Marty Seifert, R-Marshall, as House Republican minority leader.

In today’s action:

GOP members elected Rep. Steve Smith of Mound as deputy Republican leader. Smith was first elected in 1990. Before that, he served as a City Council member and mayor of Mound.
Rep. Dan Severson of Sauk Rapids was elected Republican whip. In that position, he will be responsible for building support for the caucus’s major initiatives and offering the caucus response to other legislation. Severson was first elected in 2002.

Three assistant minority leaders were elected: Reps. Bob Gunter of Fairmont, Randy Demmer of Hayfield and Sarah Anderson of Plymouth. Seifert will appoint a fourth assistant minority leader before the session’s start.

 Demmer, a small-business owner whose legislative priorities include education, agriculture and rural development, was first elected to the House in 2002.

Gunther, who is serving his eighth term, formerly chaired the House Jobs and Economic Development Finance Committee. His legislative priorities include creation of high-paying jobs for Minnesota’s workforce.
Anderson is in her second term. She previously worked for the House Republican Caucus and was executive assistant to former Speaker Steve Sviggum.

You can also learn about all our free newsletter options.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply