Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


Humphrey Dinner award winners named

The Minnesota DFL Party will bestow three major awards at its annual Hubert H. Humphrey Day dinner Saturday in Minneapolis.

Winners are:

• Steve Piragis, Ely — Willard Munger Award for Distinguished Environmental Stewardship

• Former Congressman and Minneapolis Mayor Donald Fraser, Minneapolis — Walter & Joan Mondale Award for Outstanding Public Service

• Cordy & David Strand, Aitkin — Hubert H. Humphrey Award for Distinguished Activism

Keynote speakers will be:

• Mitch Stewart, director of Organizing for America, President Barack Obama’s newly formed campaign organization.

• Paul Begala, former senior aide to President Bill Clinton, a current CNN contributor and professor at Georgetown University.

• Rep. Patrick Kennedy of Rhode Island
Don’t expect live coverage of the speeches, though. They say this year’s event is closed to the press.

We could buy a ticket, I suppose: They’re still available for $125 here.

The Saturday event begins with a general reception at 6 p.m., followed by dinner at 7 p.m. at the Hilton Minneapolis Hotel, 1001 Marquette Ave. S.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply