Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


New law honors Medal of Honor winners in Minnesota every March 25

The governor on Wednesday signed the bill authorizing $600 million in stimulus spending for transportation, but it went largely unreported that he also signed another bill: The Medal of Honor Day bill.

So now Minnesota Statutes, chapter 10, will now read:

Section 1. [10.575] MEDAL OF HONOR DAY

March 25 is designated Medal of Honor Day in honor of the individuals from
Minnesota who have served in the military or naval forces of the United States and have
received the Congressional Medal of Honor, which was first presented on March 25, 1863.
Each year, the governor shall issue a proclamation honoring this observance.

EFFECTIVE DATE.This section is effective the day following final enactment.

According to a Medal of Honor web site, Minnesota has 46 Medal of Honor winners, from the Civil War (16), Indian campaigns (6), Philippine Insurrection (1), Mexico (2), World War I (2), World War II (10), Korean War (1), Vietnam (5).

Three, including Charles Lindbergh – the famed aviator – were awarded peacetime Medals of Honor.

Nine other men who were born in Minnesota but moved or enlisted somewhere else are officially entered under other states.

 There’s also a web site with photos of grave sites of Minnesota Medal of Honor winners.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply