Now in majority, House Republicans pick new leaders

Republicans in the Minnesota Legislature — now in the majority in both chambers — have decided on their leaders.

Sen. Amy Koch of Buffalo, first elected in a 2005 special election, is the Senate majority leader, the first woman in the state’s history to hold that post.

Sen. Michelle Fischbach of Paynesville, first elected in a 1996 special election, is the Senate president. While the president’s job is often seen as ceremonial, Fischbach, as Senate president, will be next in line, after the lieutenant governor, according to the state Constitution’s succession clause. On the floor, the Senate president also decides which motions are proper and which amendments are germane, and refers bills to committee.

In the House, Rep. Kurt Zellers of Maple Grove was elected speaker of the House. He first came to the House in a 2003 special election and became House Minority Leader in 2009.

House Majority Leader will be Rep. Matt Dean of Dellwood. This will be his fourth two-year term in the House. He was leader of the successful caucus election efforts.

You can also learn about all our free newsletter options.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply