Brod, Sviggum competing for same U of M regent spot; 18 vie for four seats

The list of finalists for four open spots on the University of Minnesota’s Board of Regents has been narrowed to 18, with outgoing state Rep. Laura Brod and Steve Sviggum, former House Speaker and current (for the next two weeks) state budget commissioner, competing as two of the six finalists for the 2nd District seat.

An advisory council will now interview the finalists for six-year terms for the four seats: one at-large, one each from the 2nd, 3rd and 8th Congressional Districts. The finalists are:


  • Allen Anderson
  • Gordon Bailey
  • Steven Hunter
  • Robert Kennedy

2nd District:

  • Laura Brod
  • Thomas Devine
  • Kelly Smith
  • Steven Sviggum
  • Robert Vogel
  • Leon Westbrock

3rd District:

  • David Larson
  • Norman Rickerman
  • Roby Thompson Jr.

8th District:

  • William Burns
  • George Goldfarb
  • Scott Lyons
  • David McMillian
  • Robert Ostlund

You can also learn about all our free newsletter options.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply