Search is on for new Humphrey Institute dean

A search committee has been appointed to help find a new dean for the Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs at the University of Minnesota.

The members are looking for a successor to Brian Atwood, who’s leaving in January to become chair of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development’s (OECD) Development Assistance Committee in Paris.

David Wippman, dean of the university’s Law School will head the committee, which will look nationally and internationally to find semi-finalists for the job.

Others on the search committee are:

  •  Ragui Assaad, professor, Humphrey Institute
  •  Barbara Crosby, professor, Humphrey Institute
  •  Frank Douma, research fellow, Humphrey Institute
  •  Gwendolyn Freed, vice president for marketing and communication, Gustavus Adolphus College, and president, Humphrey Alumni Board
  •  Edward Goetz, professor, Humphrey Institute
  •  Lawrence Jacobs, professor, Walter F. and Joan Mondale Chair for Political Studies, and director, Center for the Study of Politics and Governance, Humphrey Institute
  •  Aara Johnson, president, Humphrey Student Association
  •  Samuel Myers Jr., Roy Wilkins Professor of Human Relations and Social Justice, Humphrey Institute
  •  Arthur Rolnick, senior fellow, Humphrey Institute
  •  Kate Rubin, vice president of social responsibility, United Health Group, and member, Humphrey Dean’s Advisory Council
  •  Jodi Sandfort, associate professor, Humphrey Institute
  •  Kathryn Sikkink, Regents Professor, Political Science
  •  Deborah Swackhamer, co-director, Water Resources Center, and Charles M. Denny Chair of Science, Technology, and Public Policy, Humphrey Institute
  •  John Tunheim, judge, United States District Court, and chair, Humphrey Dean’s Advisory Council

Professor Greg Lindsey will serve as interim dean.

You can also learn about all our free newsletter options.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply