Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


Dayton lists 16 Metropolitan Council appointees


Gov. Mark Dayton has named 16 people he plans to appoint to the Metropolitan Council, putting them on a “Notice of Intent to Appoint” form.

Here’s the list — and a short description of their qualifications provided by the governor’s office:

  • District 1: Roxanne Smith, Champlin, the Director of Social Justice Ministry at St. Joseph the Worker Catholic Church in Maple Grove. She is an advocate for affordable housing, transit and fair job opportunities.
  • District 2: Lona Schreiber, Brooklyn Park, a former legislator, Anoka County Governmental Relations Coordinator and Brooklyn Park Charter Commission member who will bring vision and depth to the Council. She is interested in identifying innovative ways to meet the economic and aging population challenges we face.
  • District 3: Jennifer Munt, President of Transit for Livable Communities and the Public Affairs Director for AFSCME Council 5. She is an ardent advocate for a balanced transportation system that encourages transit ridership, walking, biking and thoughtful development.
  • District 4: Gary Van Eyll,  former Mayor of Chaska and current member of the Carver County Planning Commission. He has been an advocate for affordable housing, transit and transportation.
  • District 5 Steve Elkins, with extensive public service background — at both the government and community organization leve l— with particular focus in the area of transportation and community development.
  • District 6: Jim Brimeyer, former St. Louis Park City Manager and City Council Member. Currently he is the Treasurer of the St. Louis Park Community Foundation and recently served on the South West Corridor Policy Advisory Committee.
  • District 7: Gary Cunningham, Chief Program Officer for the Norwest Area Foundation and former Director of the Office of Planning and Development for Hennepin County. He brings experience in housing, community and economic development and transit to the Council.
  • District 8: Adam Duininck, the Legislative and Political Director for the International Union of Operating Engineers Local 49. He is active in the Transportation Alliance and has served on the Transportation Strategic Management Task Force.
  • District 9: Edward Reynoso, who has experience in transportation and wastewater services through his work as a transportation industry union representative and through his involvement in related issues within his community.
  • District 10: John Doan, a Senior Associate at SRF Consulting Group and his work includes transportation planning and congestion management. He has a passion for urban and regional planning and will bring a rich background in transportation, transportation, housing and urban affairs.
  • District 11: Sandra Rummel, former state Senator who has a strong interest in water quality and usage policies and a depth of knowledge gained through her work on the Senate Environment Committee and Clean Water Legacy Subcommittee.
  • District 12: Harry Melander,  president of the Minnesota State Building and Construction Trades Council. In addition to his work in the trades, he has served on many community boards and has a keen understanding of the development issues in his district.
  • District 13: Richard Kramer, a small business owner with extensive experience in his community through his work on the St. Paul Planning Commission and various community organizations.
  • District 14: Jon Commers, founder and operator of a consulting business providing service to private, public and non-profit clients. He brings an understanding of the policy and fiscal issues surrounding public investment and a strong interest in addressing the issues of affordable housing, transportation and economic development on a regional basis.
  • District 15: Steven Chavez, a life-long resident of District 15 who through his public service has demonstrated a commitment to his community over the past 30 years. In addition to serving on the Eagan Planning Commission, he has served on multiple advisory committees and task forces dealing with housing, health, aging, transportation and minority issues.
  • District 16: Wendy Wulff,  the incumbent Council member representing District 16. Prior to being appointed to the Met Council, Wendy served on the Lakeville City Council and the League of Minnesota Cities. She also has held several appointed position at the local and regional level. She most recently served on the Council’s Environment and Community Development committees.