Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


State Sen. Jungbauer signs ‘No Climate Tax’ pledge

State Sen.

State Sen. Mike Jungbauer, a Republican from East Bethel, is the latest Minnesota politician to sign a “No Climate Tax” pledge, in response to a national effort calling for opposition to “any legislation relating to climate change that includes a net increase in government revenue.”

The pledge is being promoted by a group called Americans for Prosperity, which opposes any tax hikes included in environmental bills.

Three other Minnesota politicians (all Republicans) are among about 500 around the country on record with the group as signing the pledge:

  • U.S. Rep. Michele Bachmann
  • State Rep. Ron Shimanski of Silver Lake
  • State Rep. Glenn Gruenhagen of Glencoe.