Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


St. Cloud must be divided in redistricting map, legislator says

The city of St. Cloud is divided between two congressional districts in the House GOP’s proposed redistricting plan. So are Brainerd and North Mankato.

It has to be so, the map’s author told the St. Cloud Times.

State Rep. Sarah Anderson, R-Plymouth, told the paper that the mapmakers tried to split as few cities and counties as possible. But some had to be carved up, to achieve population equality in the eight congressional districts.

“Nobody wants to be split,” Anderson said. “But in the end somebody has to, in order to meet the zero deviation.”

The entire St. Cloud area has been in the current 6th District, represented by U.S. Rep. Michele Bachmann.

Under the proposal most of the St. Cloud area goes into a new 7th District, stretching from Chisago County on Minnesota’s eastern border to Traverse County on the western border. That includes the Lindstrom home of 8th District U.S. Rep. Chip Cravaack.

But parts of southern St. Cloud, southeast Stearns County and all of Sherburne County would stay in the 6th District.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply