Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


Primary elections today in Minneapolis and Brooklyn Park, but not St. Paul

Voters in Brooklyn Park and Minneapolis are going to the polls today for primary elections in state Senate Districts 46 and 61.

But in St. Paul, where all seven City Council seats are up for election this year, there is no primary. The city now uses ranked choice voting, so there will be only the general election on Nov. 8.

In Brooklyn Park’s District 46, a special election was called to fill the seat of the late DFL Sen. Linda Scheid. The slate:

  • DFLers: Chris Eaton and Timothy A. Davis.
  • Republicans: Ryan Sibinski and Cory Jensen.
  • Independence Party candidate Tom Reynolds is unopposed.

The winners will face off in the Oct. 18 special general election.

In District 61 in south Minneapolis, the special election was called to replace Linda Berglin, who resigned.

DFLers are:

  • Sadik Warfa
  • Kyle Wilson
  • Kristian Heuer
  • Elsa Batica
  • Paulette Will
  • Jeff Hayden

Republican Bruce Lundeen and Independence Party candidate Matt Brillhart are on the ballot, but unopposed. Green Party candidate Farheen Hakeem will be on the Oct. 18 ballot.

In St. Paul, a primary would have been needed in past years in Wards 1, 2 and 3 to narrow the field to two candidates, but the ranked-choice voter option consolidates the voting into one election in November.

Former St. Paul Mayor George Latimer explains the process in a Pioneer Press op ed piece.

You can also learn about all our free newsletter options.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply