Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


DFLers keep two Senate seats in special elections; 61B election next

DFLers retained two state Senate seats Tuesday in special elections with light turnout in Brooklyn Park and Minneapolis.

And because state Rep. Jeff Hayden won the Senate race in District 61, Gov. Mark Dayton will  now have to call for a special election for his House seat in District 61B.

Hayden got 68 percent of the vote, beating Green Party candidate Farheen Hakeem with nearly 22 percent, Republican Bruce Lundeen with 8 and Independence Party candidate Matt Brillhart, with just over 1 percent. There were four write-ins.

Hayden replaces former DFL Sen. Linda Berglin, who resigned after the last session to take a health care job with Hennepin County.

In Brooklyn Center’s District 46 election to replace the late DFL state Sen. Linda Scheid, DFLer Chris Eaton won easily with nearly 62 percent of the vote; Republican Cory Jensen had nearly 32 percent and Independence Party candidate Tom Reynolds had 5 percent. There were seven write-ins.

You can also learn about all our free newsletter options.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply