Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


Women Winning on legislative winning streak

Women Winning, which supports pro-choice women political candidates, says it endorsed candidates in five of the six recent legislative special elections, and that its candidates have won, or are very likely to win, all five races.

Endorsed candidates who’ve already won special elections are: Carly Melin, Mary Jo McGuire and Chris Eaton. Expected to win on Jan. 10 are Susan Allen and Kari Dziedzic, who won DFL primaries Tuesday in their liberal Minneapolis districts.

“Women Winning is proud to have supported Carly, Mary Jo and Chris, and we can’t wait to elect Susan and Kari to the State Legislature,” Sarah Taylor-Nanista, executive director of Women Winning, said in a statement. “With the 2010 elections, we saw the numbers of women serving in public office decline at the state level for the first time in over a decade — following these special elections, we will have a net gain of 2 women in the state legislature since last November. This is the right direction, and we are already working hard to make more gains for women in 2012.”

The group says it works with candidates in the early stage of their campaigns, with assistance in “writing of campaign plans, finding and placing key campaign staff on their candidates’ campaigns, fundraising training, and endorsing convention planning if applicable.”

The group also hosted door knocks, phone banks, and fundraisers for the candidates and contributed money to their campaigns.

In regular elections over the past year for local races such as school board, city council, mayor, and county commissioner, the group said it endorsed 31 candidates and 20 of them won.

I wrote about the group in 2010, when it was supporting Tarryl Clark’s run for Congress in the 6th District against Michele Bachmann. That one didn’t go their way.

The group said it raised more than $200,000 for its candidates last year, and is preparing to help “more women than ever before” in the coming 2012 election cycle.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply