Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


Minnesota Council on Foundations elects officers

The Minnesota Council on Foundations has elected new board officers:

  • Board Chair: Kevin Walker, president and CEO of Northwest Area Foundation
  • Vice Chair: Carolyn Roby, vice president, Wells Fargo Foundation Minnesota
  • Secretary: Kari Suzuki, director of operations, Otto Bremer Foundation
  • Treasurer: Nancy Nelson, vice president, chief actuary, Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Minnesota

New directors elected to three-year terms:

  • Brad Kruse, program director, Hugh J. Andersen Foundation
  • Gary Nan Tie, trustee, Jerome Foundation
  • Tim Thorpe, trustee, James R. Thorpe Foundation

Directors re-elected to three-year terms:

  • Kevin Walker, the new board chair
  • Kari Suzuki, the new secretary
  • Mark Hiemenz, partner relations officer, Minnesota Philanthropy Partners
  • Mark Lindberg, director of relief, recovery and development, Margaret A. Cargill Foundation

LaTresse Snead, community relations team lead, Tastefully Simple, was elected to fill a vacancy; her term will end in 2013.

The council is a regional association of grantmakers, including family and private independent foundations, community and other public foundations, and corporate foundations and giving programs. Its member organizations provide about three-quarters of all grantmaking in the state.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply