Skip to Content

Support MinnPost

Governor's task force on bullying holds first meeting today

Gov. Mark Dayton's new Task Force on the Prevention of Bullying will hold its first meeting today in Roseville.

The group, established in November, was formed to examine the best practices and policies that exist to prevent bullying and providing future recommendations to the governor and the Legislature.
State Education Commissioner Brenda Cassellius said:

"Students can't learn if they don't feel supported and safe. Bullying creates an unsafe learning environment that can have a lasting negative impact on a child. Our schools need to be places that cultivate a positive environment where students can thrive. That's why the mission of the Governor's Task Force is so important."

The 1 p.m. meeting is at the Minnesota Department of Education's Conference Center A, 1500 Highway 36 W. in Roseville.

Members of the 15-member task force are:

  • Brenda Cassellius, commissioner, Minnesota Department of Education
  • Kevin Lindsey, commissioner, Minnesota Department of Human Rights
  • Willie Bridges, senior planning manager, Hennepin County Attorney’s Office
  • Vangie Castro, Youth Education Program Manager, Rochester Public Schools
  • Phil Duran, legal director, OutFront Minnesota
  • Alana Friedman, teacher
  • Julie Hertzog, director, PACER National Bullying Prevention Center
  • Lyn Mitchell, co-founder, AMAZE
  • Jacob Reitan, founder, Equality Ride
  • Walter Roberts, professor of counselor education, Minnesota State University, Mankato
  • Dr. Thomas Scott, pediatrician
  • State Sen. Ted Daly
  • State Sen. Scott Dibble
  • State Rep. Jim Davnie
  • State Rep. Tim Kelly.

Get MinnPost's top stories in your inbox

Related Tags:

About the Author: