Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


Walter Mondale, Arne Carlson among the co-chairs of anti-Voter ID effort

A group working to defeat the proposed Voter ID amendment has named four co-chairs.

A group working to defeat Minnesota’s proposed Voter ID amendment has named four co-chairs, including former Vice President Walter Mondale and former Gov. Arne Carlson.

Also serving as co-chairs of Our Vote Our Future are former Congressman Tim Penney and civil rights activist and former University of Minnesota Regent Josie Johnson.

 The group says:

We are a broad campaign of individuals and organizations from across the state – including rural organizations, non-profits, faith-based organizations and community groups – united against this anti-voter amendment.

Article continues after advertisement

Our Vote Our Future will educate and mobilize Minnesota voters to vote NO on the photo ID amendment in order to ensure the voting rights of ALL eligible, law-abiding Minnesota voters aren’t taken away.

The proposed constitutional amendment will be on the ballot in November.