Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


Dayton appoints former rival Margaret Anderson Kelliher and five others to MnSCU board

Gov. Mark Dayton has appointed six members of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU) board of trustees.

Gov. Mark Dayton has appointed six members of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU) board of trustees, including Margaret Anderson Kelliher, who he beat in the 2010 DFL gubernatorial primary.

Five of the board members are new appointments; the sixth, technical school appointee Alfredo Oliveira, was appointed to a second term.

The appointees, with bios from the governor’s office, are:

  • Margaret Anderson Kelliher (At-large Trustee) — who served as a State Representative from 1999-2011, and as Speaker of the House from 2007-2011.  She is currently the President and CEO of the Minnesota High Tech Association.  She serves on the Board of Directors for the United Way, the Board of Directors for the YWCA of Minneapolis, the Board of Directors for Women Winning and the Board of Directors for the Textile Center of Minneapolis.   In 2011, she was appointed by Governor Dayton to be the Chair of the Broadband Taskforce. She earned a B.A. in Political Science from Gustavus Adolphus College and a M.A. in Public Administration from the Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University.
  • Ann Anaya (2nd Congressional District Trustee) — has served as an Assistant United States Attorney since 2002.  She is a skilled trial and appellate attorney assigned to the criminal division.  She is an active member of the Hispanic National Bar Association, the Minnesota Hispanic Bar Association, an Executive Board Member on the Federal Bar Association, Chair of the Criminal Rules Committee and a member of the Federal Practice Committee.  She earned both her B.A. Political Science and J.D. from the University of Minnesota.
  •  Dawn Erlandson (At-large Trustee) — is the President of Aurora Strategic Advisors Inc., where she leads public affairs and marketing communications efforts for national, state, and local clients.  She currently serves as the Immediate Past Board Chair of the Great Plains Institute, is a board member of the Product Policy Institute and a board member and co-chair of the Marketing Committee of the 1006 Summit Ave Society.  She has previously served as Board President of the Minneapolis Community and Technical College Foundation, and as a board member of 1000 Friends of Minnesota (now Envision Minnesota).  She earned a B.A. in Economics, Sociology and International Business from Hamline University and she completed a Policy Fellowship at the Humphrey School at the University of Minnesota and the Institute for Executive Director Leadership at the University of St. Thomas.
  • Alex Cirillo (6th Congressional District Trustee) — was the Vice President of Community Affairs for 3M prior to his retirement in 2010.  He had worked in different roles at 3M since he joined the company in 1979 as a Senior Physicist.  He currently serves on the Board of Directors for the Wilder Foundation and MinnCAN and has been a member of the Itasca Project’s working team since 2007.  He previously served on the Board of Directors for the Biobusiness Alliance of MN.  He earned an A.B. in Chemistry from Catholic University of America and a M.S. and Ph.D. in Chemistry from the University of Wisconsin—Milwaukee.
  •  Alfredo Oliveira (Technical College Student Trustee) — is currently pursuing a B.S. in International Business at St. Cloud State University; he expects to graduate in May 2014.  He is also currently enrolled part time at St. Cloud Technical & Community College.  He previously earned an A.A.S. in Business Management from St. Cloud Technical & Community College.  He is a peer mentor and community advisor at St. Cloud State, as well as an intern in the Office of Admissions. This will be his second term.
  •  Maria Peluso (Community College Student Trustee) — is pursuing an A.A. at Itasca Community College, and she hopes to become a math teacher.  She is from Taconite, MN, and is a 2011 graduate of Greenway High School.  She is active at school and her community and she is also an accomplished student athlete.

There are 15 board members, one from each of the eight congressional districts and four at-large, along with three members who attend school. Board members serve six-year terms, except for student members, who serve two-year terms. The state Senate must approve the new appointments.