Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


New Hennepin County Commissioner Linda Higgins to be sworn in early

The veteran state senator was elected to replace former Commissioner Mark Stenglein, who resigned to head the Minneapolis Downtown Council.

Officials elected in last week’s election will be sworn in to their various posts in January, except for Linda Higgins.

Higgins, the veteran state senator from Minneapolis, said last year that she wouldn’t seek re-election to the Legislature, and later decided to run for the seat on the Hennepin County Board vacated in June when former Commissioner Mark Stenglein resigned to be president of the Minneapolis Downtown Council.

Higgins will serve out the remaining two years of the Stenglein’s term.

Because she was elected to fill an empty seat, Higgins will be sworn in on Tuesday, at 9 a.m., in the county board chambers. She’ll be sworn in by Hennepin County Court Judge Tanya M. Bransford.

Article continues after advertisement

The other commissioners who were re-elected will be sworn in Jan. 8.

Higgins says she’s sent a letter to the governor, formally resigning from the Senate, effective Monday, because you “can’t hold two offices in Minnesota, although the Legislature likely won’t meet again till January,” she said.