Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


State Senate DFLers name whips and president pro tempore

Caucus whips are Sens. Chris Eaton and Lyle Koenen;  Ann H. Rest will be president pro tempore of the Minnesota Senate.

New DFL Senate Majority Leader Tom Bakk has rounded out the caucus leadership posts with several appointments.

Caucus whips:

  • State Sens. Chris Eaton (Brooklyn Center)
  • Lyle Koenen (Clara City)

President pro tempore of the Minnesota Senate:

  • Sen. Ann H. Rest (New Hope)

Previously, the new DFL majority caucus had elected these leaders:

  • Sen. Katie Sieben (Newport): assistant majority leader
  • Sen. Sandra Pappas (St. Paul): president of the Senate
  • Sen. Richard Cohen (St. Paul): Finance Committee chair
  • Sen. Rod Skoe (Clearbrook): Tax Committee chair
  • Sen. Jeffrey Hayden (Minneapolis): deputy leader.

The session starts Jan. 8.