Skip to Content

Support MinnPost

Four DFLers face primary in Mankato-area House special election

Four DFLers have filed to run for the state House special election in the Mankato-area District 19A.

So the four — North Mankato teacher and union head Robin Courrier, Minnesota State University Professor Clark Johnson, North Mankato farmer Karl Johnson and St. Peter Mayor Tim Strand — will face off in a party primary on Jan. 29.

None of the four yet have party endorsement. The local DFL party will hold a convention Saturday to attempt to endorse one of the four. The late timing of the convention, though, means the non-endorsed candidates won't be able to officially withdraw from the race.

The winner will advance to the special election Feb. 12, against Republican Allen Quist and Independence Party candidate Tim Gieseke, a Nicollet farmer. Quist is back on the election trail after losing the 1st District congressional race in November; he'd been a state representative in the 1980s.

The seat is vacant because Terry Morrow resigned after winning re-election in November. He has taken a new job in Chicago.

Get MinnPost's top stories in your inbox

Related Tags:

About the Author:

Comments (2)


Rochester area?

Mankato, of course

My mistake. Fixed it.