Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


More candidates announce for House 19A special election

Three DFLers and a Republican have now announced they’ll run for the House seat being vacated by Rep. Terry Morrow, who’s taking a job in Chicago.

Three DFLers and one Republican have now said they plan to run in a special election in state House District 19A, in the Mankato area. There are likely to be more.

State DFL Rep. Terry Morrow plans to resign to take a job in Chicago, and Gov. Mark Dayton will soon set a date for the special election to replace him.

The Mankato Free Press is keeping track of candidates.

So far, we’ve got:

  • Republican Jim Golgart of St. Peter, the Le Sueur County Veterans Services officer who last year lost in a bid for the Nicollet County Board.
  • DFLer  Clark Johnson, a faculty member at Minnesota State University.
  • DFLer Karl Johnson, a North Mankato farmer.
  • DFLer Robin Courrier, a teacher and head of the local teachers’ union.

Republican Allen Quist, who lost to DFL Tim Walz in November’s 1st District Congressional race, says he’ll decide next week whether he’ll seek the state House seat.

Article continues after advertisement

The Independence Party may also run a candidate.