Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


4th District Republicans elect executive committee and honor an activist

James Carson was elected chair; the newly minted “Candidates’ Award” went to Michelle Manke.

The 4th Congressional District committee of the Minnesota Republican Party elected James Carson as its new chair at its weekend convention in Vadnais Heights.

The group also presented a new award, the “Candidates’ Award,” to recognize that “the countless hours of devotion, hard work and sacrifice by activists and volunteers goes largely unnoticed,” said Tony Hernandez, who lost in his bid to defeat Congresswoman Betty McCollum in November.

Michelle Manke, who provided photography and graphic design work for Republican campaigns, was the first recipient of the award.

Said Hernandez:

Article continues after advertisement

“In the wake of a very disappointing election year for Republicans, Michelle did not quit. She picked up the ball immediately and began working and planning to find ways to win more elections for Republicans in 2014 and beyond.”

In addition to Carson, the group’s newly elected 2013 Executive Committee members are:

  • Deputy Chair — Amy Williams

  • State Executive — Pat Anderson

  • Secretary — Torleif Sorenson

  • Vice Chair — Mitch Berg

  • Vice Chair — Michelle Manke

  • Vice Chair — Elizabeth Roff

  • Vice Chair — Dallas Pierson

  • Vice Chair — John Krenik

  • Vice Chair — Arielle Taylor.