Many counties jumping on the $10 wheelage tax bandwagon, but some just say no

Last week Ramsey and Hennepin counties agreed to add the new $10 wheelage tax to annual registration costs for most vehicles, and many, but not all, counties around the state are following suit.

Nicollet, Stevens, Grant and Blue Earth counties have already decided not to go along for the ride.

The Nicollet County Board voted 3-2 to reject the tax Tuesday, says the Mankato Free Press. Commissioners worried that the state fee to administer the tax might be too high.

Metro counties had previously been allowed to levy a $5 wheelage tax; all but Anoka County appear ready to raise it to the new $10 limit.

Nearly 30 other counties have already adopted the $10 tax.

The money is basically a user fee for vehicles and proceeds will be used to maintain roads in the counties.

The Olmsted County Board approved the tax Tuesday. Board Chairman Jim Bier said the extra funds will be used for bituminous overlays, according to the Rochester Post Bulletin.

Motorcycles, mopeds, trailers, semitrailers, collector vehicles and state owned vehicles will not be charged the tax.

You can also learn about all our free newsletter options.

Comments (1)

  1. Submitted by Mike Worcester on 07/24/2013 - 10:46 am.

    Both Wright & Meeker

    Both Wright and Meeker counties said “no”. Meeker’s failed on a 3-2 vote despite pleas from the county highway dept. staff. Wright did not even take a vote, they just discussed it and took a pass.

    Is there a comprehensive list of who has and has not adopted the fee?

Leave a Reply