Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


Rybak among Dayton’s four picks for Rochester’s Destination Medical Center oversight board

Dayton Chief of Staff Tina Flint Smith, retired Wells Fargo exec James Campbell and engineer Susan Rani are also among the governor’s choices.

Gov. Mark Dayton has named his four choices to the Destination Medical Center Board, the oversight group for Rochester’s huge Mayo Clinic expansion that will get $455 million in state funds over 20 years.

The project also will get $3.5 billion from Mayo Clinic, $128 million from the City of Rochester and Olmsted County, and an estimated $2 billion from private investors.

Dayton gets four appointments to the eight-member board. The four, who must be confirmed by the state Senate, are:

  • James Campbell, former chairman and chief executive officer of Wells Fargo Minnesota, a six-year appointment.
  • Tina Flint Smith, Dayton’s chief of staff, six-year appointment.
  • Susan Rani, president of Rani Engineering, Inc., four-year appointment.
  • Minneapolis Mayor R.T. Rybak, who is not seeking re-election in November, four-year appointment.

The other four board members will be: Mayo’s choice, former Medtronic chief executive Bill George; Rochester’s mayor, the city council president and an Olmsted County board designee.

Article continues after advertisement

The multibillion-dollar expansion is designed to help Mayo continue to be a major player in the international medical field.

Officials say the $455 million state funding will be used for:

… public infrastructure, including the acquisition of property, demolition or repair of buildings, land remediation, and site improvement. State funds will also be used for the construction of buildings, parks, roads, transit facilities, parking facilities, and other cultural and recreational amenities that will enhance the region’s quality of life and encourage additional growth by making Rochester an even more desirable place to live, work, and raise a family.