Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


Special-session agreement reached: Sept. 9 for disaster relief only

The governor and legislators will consider repeal of some business taxes next year.

Gov. Mark Dayton and legislative leaders have agreed to a special session on Sept. 9 that will be limited to funding disaster relief after June storms caused damage in 18 counties.

The special session will last one day.

The federal government had declared the 18 counties eligible for federal aid, but the state needs to chip in part of the money.

Counties affected wae:

Article continues after advertisement

Benton, Big Stone, Douglas, Faribault, Fillmore, Freeborn, Grant, Hennepin, Houston, McLeod, Morrison, Pope, Sibley, Stearns, Stevens, Swift, Traverse, and Wilkin.

Earlier this summer, Dayton told farmers that he’d repeal a new farm equipment tax in the special session, but Republican legislators jumped on that to demand that other business taxes be repealed at the same time.

Today’s agreement means that no business tax changes will take place in the special session, but they will be at the top of the agenda next year when the Legislature reconvenes.