Three Nobel laureates in physics to attend Gustavus Adolphus’ Nobel conference

Three winners of the Nobel Prize in Physics will attend this year’s Nobel Conference at Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter.

The conference is Oct. 1 and 2.

“The Universe at Its Limits” is the theme of this 49th annual Nobel Conference put on by Gustavus.

The Nobel winners, who will receive honorary degrees from the college, are:

  • Samuel C.C. Ting of MIT, 1976 Nobel laureate in physics
  • Frank Wilczek of MIT, 2004 Nobel laureate in physics
  • George Smoot of UC-Berkeley and Paris Diderot University, 2006 Nobel laureate in physics

Other speakers include:

  • Tara Shears, particle physicist, University of Liverpool
  • Lawrence Krauss, physicist and astronomer at Arizona State University
  • S. James Gates Jr., string and particle theorist, University of Maryland
  • Alexei Filippenko, astrophysicist and supernovae researcher at the University of California, Berkeley
  • Fr. George Coyne, SJ, former director of the Vatican Observatory and head of the observatory’s research group based at the University of Arizona.

Steve Mellema, Nobel Conference chair and professor of physics at Gustavus, said the conference will look at the state of the universe, as we know it:

“We live at a remarkable moment in the understanding of the most fundamental questions of science: What is the Universe made of? Where did it come from? Where is it going?

“At this year’s Nobel Conference we will explore these questions in the light of recent discoveries and spend time contemplating both their scientific and their philosophical implications.”

You can also learn about all our free newsletter options.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply