Nonprofit, independent journalism. Supported by readers.


Two Minnesota Courts of Appeals judges to retire this spring

Gov. Mark Dayton will appoint new judges to replace Thomas J. Kalitowski and  Terri J. Stoneburner.

Gov. Mark Dayton said Monday that he will appoint successors to Minnesota Court of Appeals Judges Thomas J. Kalitowski and Terri J. Stoneburne, who plan to retire in April.

The Commission on Judicial Selection will review applications and make recommendations to Dayton. The deadline for applications is Jan. 13. Applications can be requested from Andrew Olson, appointments coordinator, at

Kalitowski, a former commissioner of the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency, was appointed to the court in 1987 by Gov. Rudy Perpich.

Stoneburner was a district court judge when she was appointed to the
Appeals Court by Gov. Jesse Ventura in 2000.