Nonprofit, independent journalism. Supported by readers.


Minnesota Gopher women’s hockey team to meet President Obama

The president will meet the undefeated 2012-13 team at 4 p.m. CDT. Other college champions from around the country will be at the event, too.

The undefeated 2012-13 University of Minnesota championship women’s hockey team will meet President Obama in Washington, D.C., this afternoon.

It’s part of an event bringing many college championship teams to the south lawn of the White House.

The event will be streamed live on at 4 p.m. CDT.

The 2012-13 team won the Division 1 championship with an undefeated season. It was part of a 62-0 streak the team compiled between 2011 and 2013.

Article continues after advertisement

The Division 1 teams honored today are:

  • Duke University: Men’s Lacrosse
  • Indiana University: Men’s Soccer
  • Oklahoma State University: Men’s Cross Country
  • Princeton University: Fencing
  • Princeton University: Field Hockey
  • Stanford University: Women’s Tennis
  • University of Alabama: Men’s Golf
  • University of California, Irvine: Men’s Volleyball
  • University of Colorado, Boulder: Men’s Cross Country
  • University of Kansas: Women’s Outdoor Track and Field
  • University of Minnesota: Women’s Hockey
  • University of North Carolina: Women’s Lacrosse
  • University of North Carolina: Women’s Soccer
  • University of Oklahoma: Softball
  • University of Southern California: Men’s Water Polo
  • University of Southern California: Women’s Water Polo
  • University of Virginia: Men’s Tennis
  • West Virginia University: Rifle
  • Yale University: Men’s Hockey.