Absentee voting opens for Hennepin County commissioner special election

A primary in the special election for the District 3 Hennepin County Commissioner seat will be Tuesday, April 29, but absentee voting has already begun.

Those who can’t make it to the polls election day can file an absentee vote through Monday, April 28 at 5 p.m.

The primary will narrow the field to two candidates for the May 13 special election.

The seat, which includes St. Louis Park, and downtown and southwest Minneapolis, is open because Gail Dorfman resigned to become the new executive director of St. Stephen’s Human Services in Minneapolis. She’d been on the county board for 14 years.

Listed on the ballot for the primary are:

Mavity, Schweigert, Kelash and Greene courted DFL support in the race, but a botched convention meant no party endorsement.

You can also learn about all our free newsletter options.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply