Sviggum, Benson to co-chair Jeff Johnson’s gubernatorial campaign

Jeff Johnson — the Hennepin County commissioner who has the Republican endorsement in the Minnesota governor’s race — said today that former state House Speaker Steve Sviggum and state Sen. Michelle Benson will be co-chairs of his campaign.

Johnson will face businessman Scott Honour, state Rep. Kurt Zellers and former state Rep. Marty Seifert in an Aug. 12 primary; the winner will take on Gov. Mark Dayton in November.

Johnson’s campaign manager is Scot Crockett, a veteran who was campaign manager for Rep. John Kline in the 2000 election and has worked on gubernatorial campaigns in Montana and New York. His LinkedIn profile says he was executive director of Tea Party Patriots in 2012.

Other announced Johnson campaign positions:

Gregg Peppin of P2B Strategies will serve as senior campaign advisor, and Randy Skoglund of the Orange Hat Group leads all digital media activities. Peppin has over 25 years of experience in Minnesota politics. Skoglund is a veteran of numerous political campaigns both in and out of Minnesota, and of the Republican Party of Minnesota.
Chairing the Finance Committee are Jeffery DeYoung, Stephen Imholt, and Gregg Peterson. Jeanette Purcell, a veteran political fundraiser, is leading fundraising efforts.

You can also learn about all our free newsletter options.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply