Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


Two Hennepin County commissioners get national leadership posts

Commissioners Peter McLaughlin and Randy Johnson will lead committees for the National Association of Counties.

Two Hennepin County commissioners have been named to leadership spots on committees of the National Association of Counties (NACo).

Veteran Commissioner Randy Johnson was reappointed  vice chair of the the national group’s information technology standing committee, chair of its geospatial information systems subcommittee and vice chair of the Medicaid and Indigent Care subcommittee.

Commissioner Peter McLaughlin will be chair the group’s transportation steering committee.

NACo says it works with the nation’s 3,069 counties, serving as a “unified voice before the federal government, improves the public’s understanding of county government, assists counties in finding and sharing innovative solutions through education and research and provides value-added services to save counties and taxpayers money.”

Article continues after advertisement

Johnson, who’s been on the county board since 1979, is a past president of NACo and helped establish the information technology standing committee.

McLaughlin, on the county board since 1991, is chair of the County Transit Improvement Board and chair of the Hennepin County Regional Railroad Authority. He said the national position is important because of the role of counties in transportation systems.

“Counties own and maintain the greatest share of America’s road miles and are the stewards of more than a third of our transit systems and airports,” he said.