Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


Thissen elected DFL Minority Leader; three Republicans vie for Speaker

Tuesday’s GOP takeover of the House means Thissen goes from Speaker to Minority Leader; on the GOP side, state Reps. Dean, Klaudt and Hamilton vie for the Speaker job.

Tuesday’s change-over of the Minnesota House from DFL to GOP control means change at the top in that chamber.

The remaining DFL House members on Thursday endorsed their once and future leader, Paul Thissen of Minneapolis — who served as House Speaker when they were in control — by voting for him to be the new Minority Leader.

After the vote, Thissen said:

Moving forward, the House DFL caucus will fight to improve economic security and opportunity for working families in every region of our state. We will work to defend the progress we’ve made to grow the middle class, honestly balance our budget, and invest in our state’s future. And we will hold Republicans accountable to the promises they made on the campaign trail to get past government gridlock and deliver results for the betterment of all Minnesotans.

Article continues after advertisement

On the GOP side, the new majority caucus will vote today on a House Speaker. At least three members are in the running:

  • Current House Minority Leader Kurt Daudt, from Crown
  • Matt Dean, of Dellwood, who’d been Majority Leader when the Republicans controlled the House
  • Rod Hamilton, Mountain Lake, a former Ag Committee Chair