More leaders named for state House DFL caucus

Minnesota DFLers in the state House have announced more leadership positions going into the 2015 session, which starts next month.

The caucus earlier agreed to keep Paul Thissen as leader, though he’ll now be Minority Leader instead of House Speaker because the GOP took control in the November election.

Named as the new DFL Deputy Minority Leaders are:

  • State Rep. Paul Marquart (Dilworth)
  • State Rep. Erin Murphy (St. Paul)
  • State Rep. Melissa Hortman (Brooklyn Park)

Murphy had been Majority Leader last session, Hortman was Speaker Pro Tempore; Marquart had been chair of the Education Finance committee.

Said Thissen, of Minneapolis:

“Our focus over the next two years will be to put working families ahead of wealthy special interests and we will hold Republicans accountable to do the same. I look forward to working together with these great leaders to continue our work for the middle class across our state.”

You can also learn about all our free newsletter options.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply