Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


Hodges begins national leadership program in Colorado

Hodges was named a Rodel Fellow at the Aspen Institute; Also among the 24 fellows selected for this year’s program is state Rep. Tara Mack of Apple Valley.

Minneapolis Mayor Betsy Hodges begins a national leadership program today in Colorado.

She’s one of 24 “young” political leaders selected for this year’s class of the Rodel Fellowship program, part of the Aspen Institute. (The “young” leaders can be 25-50.)

Also in this Rodel class is Minnesota state Rep. Tara Mack of Apple Valley.

The Rodel program says it:

Article continues after advertisement

“seeks to enhance our democracy by identifying and bringing together the nation’s most promising young political leaders to explore, through study and conversation, the underlying values and principles of western democracy, the relationship between individuals and their community, and the responsibilities of public leadership; to support and inspire political leaders committed to sustaining the vision of a political system based on thoughtful and civil bipartisan dialogue; and to help America’s brightest young leaders achieve their fullest potential in public service.”

The program runs 18-24 months, with three seminars within the U.S. The first, today through Monday, is at the Aspen Institute’s Aspen, Colorado campus. All costs associated with the seminars are paid for by the Rodel Foundations and the Aspen Institute, both nonprofit organizations.

Said Hodges in a statement:

“I am eager to spend time over the next eighteen months in dialogue with a bipartisan group of leaders from across the country. The opportunity to engage in thoughtful consideration of and spirited debate about how our political systems operate is an opportunity to bring fresh thinking and an across-the-aisle spirit back home to Minneapolis.”

  •  Others, besides Hodges and Mack, in this, the tenth Rodel Fellowship class:
  • California state Assemblyman Rob Bonta
  • South Bend Mayor Peter Buttigieg
  • Pennsylvania Lt. Gov. Jim Cawley
  • Cincinnati Mayor John Cranley
  • North Dakota public service commissioner Julie Fedorchak
  • Nevada state Sen. Aaron Ford
  • Denver Mayor Michael Hancock
  • Oklahoma House Speaker Jeff Hickman
  • St. Louis city treasurer Tishaura Jones
  • North Carolina state Rep. Grier Martin
  • South Carolina state Sen. Shane Massey
  • Providence city councilwoman Sabina Matos
  • California state Assemblywoman Kristin Olsen
  • Alaska House majority leader Lance Pruitt
  • Florida agriculture commissioner/former Congressman Adam Putnam
  • Missouri state Rep. Todd Richardson
  • Arkansas state Rep. Warwick Sabin,
  • Michigan Senate president pro tem Tonya Schuitmaker
  • Maryland state Sen. Chris Shank
  • Dallas school board president Miguel Solis
  • Colorado state treasurer Walker Stapleton
  • Oregon state Rep. Jennifer Williamson