Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


Gov. Dayton finalizes Metropolitan Council appointments with three new members

Gov. Mark Dayton has finalized his appointments to the Metropolitan Council, which oversees transit and regional planning in the metro area.

Two weeks ago Dayton proposed the 16 members (along with the new full-time chair, Adam Duininck), asking for input on the applicants in a letter to Republican House Speaker Kurt Daudt.

Whatever the input, the final list is the same as was proposed.

There are three new members from the previous council: Gail Dorfman, Deb Barber and Cara Letofsky.

There are currently bills in the Legislature that would change the way the council members are appointed. One would require the governor’s nominees to the Met Council to receive the endorsement of a majority of the city councils in their district.

The council has 4,200 employees and an $890 million annual operating budget, and handles metro highways, mass transit, sewers, water and parks, and plans future growth.

Here is the list Dayton has submitted to the Secretary of State:

  • District 1: Katie Rodriguez, Maple Grove
  • District 2: Lona Schreiber, Brooklyn Park
  • District 3: Jennifer Munt, Minnetonka
  • District 4: Deb Barber, to replace Gary Van Eyll 
  • District 5 Steve Elkins, Bloomington
  • District 6: Gail Dorfman, to replace Jim Brimeyer
  • District 7: Gary Cunningham,Minneapolis
  • District 8: Cara Letofsy, to Duinick’s now-vacant position
  • District 9: Edward Reynoso, Ham Lake
  • District 10: Marie McCarthy, Blaine
  • District 11: Sandra RummelWhite Bear Lake
  • District 12: Harry Melander, Mahtomedi
  • District 13: Richard Kramer, St. Paul
  • District 14: Jon Commers, St. Paul
  • District 15: Steven Chavez, Eagan
  • District 16: Wendy Wulff, Lakeville

No comments yet

Leave a Reply