Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


Three Minnesota mayors attend Mississippi River meetings in D.C.

Mayors of St. Cloud, Sartell and Dayton are attending the meetings of the Mississippi River Cities & Towns Initiative, which advocates for regional cooperation in protecting the river.

Three Minnesota mayors — from St. Cloud, Sartell and Dayton — are in Washington, D.C., this week for meetings of the Mississippi River Cities & Towns Initiative.

The group was formed to pursue regional cooperation to protect the river.

This week’s work includes meetings with the Army Corps of Engineers, members of Congress, the Obama administration and environmental leaders about the health and vitality of the Mississippi River. 

One of the big issues they’re pursuing: allowing container-on-vessel transport on the river, which, they note, is a common way to distribute goods in other parts of the world.

Article continues after advertisement

There’s also a plan to send a delegation from the group to the COP 21 international climate change meeting this December in Paris.

The Minnesota mayoral contingent at these meetings:

  • Dave Klies, St. Cloud
  • Tim McNeil, Dayton
  • Sarah Jane Nicoll, Sartell

They’re among 18 river state mayors in D.C. for this round of meetings; The initiative has a total of 58 member cities from all 10 Mississippi River states.

The 15 Minnesota cities that are part of the initiative:

  • Bemidji
  • Brainerd
  • Baxter
  • Sartell
  • Sauk Rapids
  • St. Cloud
  • Clearwater
  • Monticello
  • Dayton
  • Ramsey
  • Minneapolis
  • St. Paul
  • Hastings
  • Red Wing
  • Winona