Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


Reps. Ellison and Nolan get support from new Jewish Action PAC

The newly formed Bend the Arc Jewish Action PAC, launched by Alex Soros and others, says it’s the first Jewish PAC focused solely on domestic issues.

Minnesota Reps. Keith Ellison and Rick Nolan are among the first beneficiaries of the newly formed Bend the Arc Jewish Action PAC — which organizers says is “the first-ever national Jewish PAC focused exclusively on domestic issues.”

The PAC says it will support politicians with progressive views. It was launched today by Alex Soros and other prominent Jewish Democrats. Soros, son of billionaire philanthropist George Soros, chairs the Board of Bend the Arc Jewish Action, an affiliated advocacy group.

The two Minnesotans are among 12 members of Congress who will share $200,000 in campaign contributions for the PAC’s initial endorsements.

Alex Soros said in a statement:

Article continues after advertisement

There’s a tremendous hunger among American Jews for a political voice that is focused on their real priorities. Until today, there has been no Jewish PAC focused on domestic issues. That’s why we came together to launch Bend the Arc Jewish Action PAC and support Members of Congress like Keith Ellison and Rick Nolan.

And Hadar Susskind, the director of the PAC, said:

Jews are among the most progressive and engaged constituencies in American politics. The way to win our political support is by standing up for issues like marriage equality, immigration reform, racial justice and the rest of the domestic progressive agenda. Rep. Keith Ellison and Rep. Rick Nolan have been champions of the causes our community cares about most. We’re thrilled to announce that they are two of our first endorsements for this election cycle.

Joining Ellison and Nolan on the PAC’s initial support list are U.S. Reps.:

  • Jan Schakowsky (IL-9)
  • Alma Adams (NC-12)
  • Ruben Gallego (AZ-7)
  • Barbara Lee (CA-13)
  • Mark Takano (CA-41)
  • David Cicilline (RI-1)
  • Xavier Becerra (CA-34)
  • Mike Honda (CA-17)
  • Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12)
  • Yvette Clarke (NY-11)