Nonprofit, independent journalism. Supported by readers.


U.S. Rep. Emmer joins Gov. Dayton’s Mexican trade mission

The governor leads the group leaving Sunday for Mexico City and Guadalajara to explore trade and investment opportunities.

The roster is set for the Minnesota trade mission to Mexico, which leaves Sunday in quest of new trade and investment opportunities.

Thirty-six delegates, from business and education, will join Gov. Mark Dayton and eight other state officials. Among those on the trip will be U.S. Rep. Tom Emmer, who lost to Dayton in the 2010 governor’s race and has since been elected to Congress.

Gov. Mark Dayton announced the trip in March, and recruited business and education leaders to come along at an estimated cost of about $5,000 each.

The group will go to Mexico City and Guadalajara, with the schedule including a tour a distribution facility of Boston Scientific, and visit a Best Buy signature store in Mexico City, Guadalajara Software Center and soy oil processing facility AGYDSA.

Article continues after advertisement

Dayton said the goal “will be to establish and build relationships that will help Minnesota companies and producers increase their exports to Mexico, and in doing so, create more jobs here at home.”

He hopes they’ll be able to:

  • Introduce Minnesota companies to opportunities in the Mexican market
  • Showcase investment opportunities in Minnesota
  • Grow state exports to Mexico,
  • Strengthen ties in government, commerce, education, and culture

They return Aug. 14.

The delegation list is:

  • Cristine Almeida, President and CEO, Almeida Public Affairs, St. Paul
  • Brandon Anderson, President, Von Ruden Manufacturing, Inc., Buffalo
  • Greg Benson, Owner and CEO, Loll Designs, Inc., Duluth
  • Laura Bishop, Vice President, Best Buy Co., Inc., Minneapolis
  • Rick Brimacomb, Founder, Brimacomb & Associates, Minneapolis
  • Susan Burns, President, Susan Burns, LLC, Minneapolis
  • Maria Antonio Calvo, Chair, Cine Global, Film Society of Minneapolis and St. Paul
  • Eric Canny, Dean, Global Education, Augsburg College, Minneapolis
  • Sergio Castillo, President and CEO, ECO BCG Corporation, Woodbury
  • Tom Emmer, U.S. Representative, U.S. House of Representatives
  • Matthew Field, President and CEO, Goebel Fixture Company, Hutchinson
  • George Goblish, President, Minnesota Soybean Growers Association, Mankato
  • Kevin C. Hanson, CEO and President, International Creative Capital, LLC, Wayzata
  • Nate Heydt, Vice President, Loll Designs, Inc., Duluth
  • Pat Kelly, Attorney, Fredrikson & Byron, P.A., Minneapolis
  • Michael Langley, CEO, GREATER MSP, St. Paul
  • Amy Lindgren, President, Prototype Career Service, St. Paul
  • Meredith McQuaid, Associate Vice President and Dean of International Programs, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis
  • Lance Mueffelman, CFO, Goebel Fixture Company, Hutchinson
  • Tom Newton, Vice President, KNOCK, inc., Minneapolis
  • Anna Kate Nolan, Resident Advisor, University of St. Thomas, St. Paul
  • Michael Nolan, Director, Small Business Development Center, Minnesota State University, Mankato
  • Earl Potter, President, St. Cloud State University, St. Cloud
  • Luis G. Resendiz, Attorney, Fredrikson & Byron, P.A., Minneapolis
  • Dan Root, Director, Minnesota Corn Growers Association, Shakopee
  • Steven Rosenstone, Chancellor, Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, St. Paul
  • Dr. Judith Schaefer, President, Cotter Schools, Winona
  • Nick Scott, Transfer Pricing Director, Grant Thornton, Minneapolis
  • Lori Stevermer, MN Pork Producers Association, Mankato
  • Glenn Thuringer, President, Bioverse, Inc., Worthington
  • Eduardo Hurtado, Marketing Manager, Boston Scientific Corporation Mexico
  • Luis Vinagre, Marketing Manager, Infusion Therapies Latin America, Smiths Medical
  • Suzanne Vold, Secretary, Minnesota Division, and dairy farm owner-operator, Midwest Dairy Association, Glenwood
  • Todd Vollmers, Attorney, Thompson Hall Santi Cerny & Katkov, Minneapolis
  • Mike Zins, President, Board of Directors, Minnesota Soybean Processors, Brewster
  • Alberto Fierro, Consul of Mexico in St. Paul, Consulate of Mexico

In addition, these state officials will go:

  • Dave Frederickson, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Agriculture, St. Paul
  • Sarah Hinde, Director of External Relations, Office of the Governor, St. Paul
  • Jennie Maes, Aide to the Governor, Office of the Governor, St. Paul
  • Barbara Mattson, International Trade Representative, Minnesota Trade Office, St. Paul
  • Kathleen Motzenbecker, Executive Director, Minnesota Trade Office, St. Paul
  • Thomas Norman, Director, Workforce Development Division, DEED, St. Paul
  • Tim Odegard, International Trade Representative, Minnesota Trade Office, St. Paul
  • Jeffrey Phillips, International Trade Manager, Minnesota Department of Agriculture, St. Paul