Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


Two new members to join St. Paul City Council at inauguration

Two new St. Paul City Council members will be sworn in today when the new council is inaugurated at the Ordway Center.

Newcomers to the seven-member council are Rebecca Noecker in Ward 2, who replaces the retiring Dave Thune, and Jane Prince Ward 7; that’s the seat Kathy Lantry held until she resigned last year to head Public Works. Former Police Chief William Finney was the interim council member.

In the other five wards, the incumbents were returned to office by the voters:

  • Dai Thao, Ward 1
  • Chris Tolbert, Ward 3
  • Russ Stark, Ward 4
  • Amy Brendmoen, Ward 5
  • Dan Bostrom, Ward 6

Today’s inauguration ceremony, at 4:30 p.m., will be broadcast on cable channel 18 and streamed at

Pageantry at the ceremony includes: swearing in by City Clerk Shari Moore, introduction by Mayor Chris Coleman and words from St. Paul Poet Laureate Carol Connolly. The St. Paul Fire Department and Police Department Color Guards will be on hand, with music by the Capital City Wind Ensemble co-directed by Roger Grupp and Mary Livingston.  

No comments yet

Leave a Reply