Senate OKs several Obama nominees, Holder faces more grilling

On Thursday, senators confirmed the following for Obama posts: former Illinois Rep. Ray Lahood as secretary of transportation, New York City housing commissioner Shaun Donovan as secretary of transportation, Lisa Perez Jackson as Environmental Protection Agency administrator, Nancy Helen Sutley as a member of the Council of Environmental Quality, Mary Schapiro as chairman of the Securities and Exchange Commission and Susan Rice as ambassador to the United Nations. Laurie Kellman at AP has more on recent confirmations.

You can also learn about all our free newsletter options.

Comments (2)

  1. Submitted by Rod Loper on 01/23/2009 - 12:17 pm.

    Holder is being held up to “tenderize” him on
    prosecuting Bush excesses on torture and FISA.
    These people had no problem with the presumed
    “independence” of Gonzales.

  2. Submitted by Pixie on 01/23/2009 - 05:21 pm.

    I believe Donovan will be Sec. of Housing, not Transporation.

Leave a Reply