Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


Wilson vote: Minnesota delegation splits along party lines

WASHINGTON, D.C. — In a rare move, the U.S. House voted Tuesday to rebuke Republican Rep. Joe Wilson of South Carolina, who yelled “you lie” at President Obama during his speech before a joint session of Congress last Wednesday.

In a mostly party line vote, the House voted 240 to 179 to ratify “a resolution of disproval” against Wilson.

Minnesota’s delegation broke along party lines with Democratic Reps. Tim Walz, Betty McCollum, Keith Ellison, Collin Peterson and Jim Oberstar voting for the measure and Republican Reps. Erik Paulsen, John Kline and Michele Bachmann voting against it.

“To insult the president of the United States — an invited guest in this House — in such a manner brings shame on this body and all its members,” said McCollum during a speech on the House floor Tuesday. “Disrespect, incivility and personal attacks have no place in the people’s House if we are to get the people’s business done.” 

McCollum recently announced that her leadership political action committee would donate $1,000 to the Democratic opponent of Wilson in 2010.  She has also encouraged other Democrats to do the same.

Wilson has already apologized to Obama, and the president has accepted his apology. On Tuesday, Wilson refused to apologize further.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply