Minnesota’s House delegation splits on Guantanamo vote

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Minnesota’s House delegation split along party lines this week over a vote to block the transfer of any Guantanamo Bay detainees to the United States.

The measure failed 193 to 224. Minnesota Republican Reps. John Kline, Erik Paulsen and Michele Bachmann voted in favor of blocking the transfer. Democratic Reps. Tim Walz, Keith Ellison, Collin Peterson and Jim Oberstar voted against it.

Betty McCollum, who had traveled to the Twin Cities for an event with Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood, did not vote.

Check out more analysis here.

You can also learn about all our free newsletter options.

Comments (1)

  1. Submitted by James Hamilton on 10/16/2009 - 04:06 pm.

    Hopelessly predictable, every one of them, on both sides of the aisle.

Leave a Reply