Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.

This coverage is made possible by a grant from The Saint Paul Foundation.

St. Paul council members sworn in; big party Friday night


St. Paul’s newest City Council members — Chris Tolbert and Amy Broendmoen — were sworn in today, along with their five veteran council colleagues, in a ceremony at the Ordway’s McKnight Theater.

Tolbert won the Ward 3 seat vacated by Pat Harris, who didn’t seek election; Brendmoen defeated incumbent Lee Helgen in a tight Ward 5 election.

The returning veterans are Dave Thune, Melvin Carter III, Kathy Lantry, Dan Bostrom and Russ Stark. Ramsey County Sheriff Matt Bostrom held the Bible for his father Dan’s swearing-in.

The two new members will be featured at Friday’s inaugural ball, at 7 p.m. at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, across the street from City Hall. The ball is open to the public; a $10 contribution is requested.