Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.

This coverage is made possible by a grant from The Saint Paul Foundation.

600 St. Paul residents now have new county commissioners

About 600 St. Paul residents have been moved into new county commissioner districts as the result of redistricting.

Pop quiz: Who knows the name of his or her county commissioner?

(I’m expecting better results from MinnPost readers than we’d get from a poll of the general public.)

The county’s district changes affect only St. Paul, and will not have any effect on the November election, because the affected commissioners aren’t up for election.

The changes in St. Paul will affect 603 people, officials say. The changes are:

  • An area south of University Avenue between Western Avenue and Rice Street. The southern boundary varies between Fuller Avenue and Aurora Avenue. The 470 people in this area would shift from District 3 (Janice Rettman) to District 4 (Toni Carter).
  • An area between Interstate 35E and Edgerton Street; south of sections of Case Avenue, York Avenue, and Whitall Street, and north of the railroad tracks. The 55 people in this area will shift from District 3 to District 5 (Rafael Ortega).
  • A triangular area south of Minnehaha Avenue between Edgerton Avenue and Payne Avenue. The 70 people in this area will shift from District 6 (Jim McDonough), to District 5.
  • A triangular area north of Minnehaha Avenue between EastSeventh Street and Forest Street. The eight people in this area will shift from District 5 to District 6.

There’s a map on this page, for anyone wondering which district he or she is in.

Two Cities blog, which covers Minneapolis and St. Paul City Halls, is made possible in part by grants from The Saint Paul Foundation and the Carolyn Foundation.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply