Skip to Content

Support MinnPost

This coverage is made possible by a grant from The Saint Paul Foundation.

Mayors Rybak and Coleman join local mayors in transit push at Capitol

St. Paul Mayor Chris Coleman and Minneapolis Mayor R.T. Rybak will join other metro mayors and transit leaders at the Capitol today to urge legislators to push Gov. Mark Dayton's transit proposal.

Dayton has proposed an additional 0.25% sales tax in the metro area to fund new bus and light rail lines. His proposal also would extend the tax to Carver and Scott counties.

Metropolitan Council Chair Sue Haigh, and Hennepin County Commissioner Peter McLaughlin, who is chair of the Counties Transit Improvement Group, will also be at the 11 a.m. event. So will these other mayors:

  • Eagan Mayor Mike Maguire
  • West Saint Paul Mayor John Zanmiller
  • Shakopee Mayor Brad Tabke
  • Savage Mayor Janet Williams
  • Golden Valley Mayor Shep Harris

The group says Dayton's transit plan "would create a 21st century transit system in Minnesota, which is critical for job creation, economic prosperity and our ability to be globally competitive."

Get MinnPost's top stories in your inbox

Related Tags:

About the Author: